Foolish Heart

Of all the strategies to get more readers, calling people stupid would not be one I would choose.  I hope you know that I appreciate all my readers and that I respect varying viewpoints and opinions.

Yet, while my goal is to encourage others through writing, I’ve also bound myself to write within the constraints of the Liturgical scriptures of the week.   Today, I had a choice between Psalm 14 and 2 Samuel 11, where David slept with Uriah’s wife than had him killed.  I chose Psalm 14.

I also chose this Psalm because it’s where we begin in our faith.  We start by letting ourselves believe there is one more powerful than us.  There is a creator and supreme being to whom we can call.

Hear what the psalmist stays in Psalm 14 1-4 

The fool has said in his heart, ‘There is no God.’  They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none who does good. The Lord looks down from heaven upon the children of men, To see if there are any who understand, who seek God. They have all turned aside, They have together become corrupt; There is none who does good, No, not one. Have all the workers of iniquity no knowledge, Who eat up my people as they eat bread, And do not call on the Lord?.” (NKJV)

Harsh words. No one likes being called a fool.  Yet that is what the psalmist calls those who have turned their hearts from God to  their own desires and beliefs.

It takes work to not believe in God.  A spark of unbelief, fueled by the bitterness of unanswered prayers, anger at the evil that runs rampant in the world, and all the suffering and loss experienced by self and others.

The heart hardens and God is pushed aside replaced with their own desires.  They look to the mountains and see volcanic protrusions.  They see the stars and only see balls of gas. (For some reason I just thought of The Lion King)

Psalm 19:1 says,  “The heavens declare the glory of God; And the firmament shows His handiwork.” (NKJV)

Look to the heavens.  What do you see?  Listen to the river.  Stand in the middle of the forest and listen to the trees call out His name.

Nature declares God’s presence and His glory. (Ps.19:1) Won’t you open your eyes and ears and let God take His place in your heart?  (tweet that)

Photo Credit: By Andrea Silva, Creative Commons

Related articles

4 thoughts on “Foolish Heart

  1. The bible says only a fool will say in his heart that their is no God…I just don’t know how people can say that their is no God..I look at my life before I had this relationship and though my parents believed in us going to church my mom talked about Jesus all the time and I don’t ever once can imagine me saying there is no God..I might not of been serving Him but I don’t think I said such words from my mouth. But when I realized I could no longer go on what my mom had I had to have my own relationship I can see why people say such things. because not everyone was brought up with knowing about Jesus at an early age..but than again God says that my creation call out of who He is…

Leave a Reply

