When I am Weak…

We all fall sometimes.  We get tired and weak.  Sometimes we fail.  
There are some days when it’s all I can do to lift my head off the pillow, much less raise it up and walk with purpose.  That’s just how we’re wired.  So what do we do when we fall?  To whom do we go for strength, purpose and provision?

Psalm 145: 14-19 calls out, “The Lord upholds all who fall, And raises up all who are bowed down. The eyes of all look expectantly to You, And You give them their food in due season.  You open Your hand and satisfy the desire of every living thing.  The Lord is righteous in all His ways, Gracious in all His works. The Lord is near to all who call upon Him, To all who call upon Him in truth.  He will fulfill the desire of those who fear Him; He also will hear their cry and save them.

God Upholds

When my strength fails me, what great comfort to know it is “The Lord (who) upholds.”  I know I can always count on God’s strength.  In 2 Cor. 12:10 Paul says, “Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

God Raises Up

I’ve had some crash and burn moments.  Mostly self-inflicted  Times when I’ve fallen to my own desires.  I’ve dived to the depths of depravity.  There have been other times when I’ve hit rock bottom because of the death of people I loved dearly.  There is a time for sadness, grief and morning. (Ecc.3:1).  But, there is a time to take God by the hand and let Him raise us up.  He offers help to raise us from our fallen nature, depravity, depression and desires.

God Gives

When we can finally trust God to change us and take care of our needs, then He is finally able to work within us and provide. (tweet that)

God Satisfies
When we look expectantly to God’s open hands, rather than the hands of self and sin, God satisfies us with the fullness of His Spirit. (tweet, tweet)
God is Near

When we call upon God in truth, out of an honest yearning for His help and work in our lives, God is near.  Blurting out His name, expecting a quick fix for you just to go back to live the way you want isn’t going to get it.  God wants truth from you!  Do you mean it?  Are you really ready for Him to be Lord and master of your life?  If so, God is near.

God will Hear
When we call upon God in truth, God will hear.  What a comfort to know that not only is God close to us, but He hears our cries for help.
God will Save
When we fear the Lord; reverence God in awe and wonder, know in our hearts there is no other to save us, have reached the end of ourselves, God will save!  He will save us from ourselves, our sin, sadness and want.  God is all in all.

“Jesus loves me! This I know, for the Bible tells me so.Little ones to Him belong; they are weak, but He is strong.  Yes, Jesus loves me!  Yes, Jesus loves me!  Yes, Jesus loves me!  The Bible tells me so.”

Jesus Loves Me
words by Anna Bartlett Warner., 1860
Music by William Batchelder Bradbury, 1862

Photo Credit: Steve Partridge, Creative Commons

Related articles

One thought on “When I am Weak…

  1. Pingback: God cannot fail « Bishop Michael Reid

Leave a Reply

