Are You Hungry?

Photo by Fir0002/Flagstaffotos, Creative Commons

Appetite can be a dangerous thing for those who lack discipline.   I love food and don’t make exercise a priority, so I’m overweight. No big shock there. I could eat less and exercise more, but that would mean I’d have to give up something I really like for something I really don’t want to do.

Do you find yourself in the same situation? How about other appetites? There is a cause and effect to all of them.

There are consequence for overdoing. Sometimes giving in just once has dire consequences. Especially if you hunger alcohol, drugs, or sex. (click to tweet)  

I understand the desire to come home and relax with a drink. But there’s danger in putting your trust in alcohol to bring a sense of peace and relaxation. Drugs can help us heal and ease out pain when used appropriately. Used illegally, or abused, we can grow dependent on their effects. Sex is beautiful in the context of marriage. Outside of that context, it can destroy.

I like the taste of alcohol. I will go even farther and say I like the way it makes me feel. But I had to stop drinking altogether for a couple of reasons. I have a long and terrible family history involving alcohol. Both grandfathers and a step-grandfather were alcoholics, my father was an alcoholic and killed two people, using alcohol as part of his defense. The other reason was that I was beginning to enjoy it a bit too much. It’s easy to fall in love with that which tastes and feels good.

Marijuana wasn’t a big deal for me to quit. Though I loved the smell and taste (yes, I inhaled), it made my stomach hurt. Acid, aka LSD, was an interesting experience. But I didn’t like feeling its effects 3 days later. Tobacco was my drug of choice. I still love the smell of cigarettes. Didn’t think I’d go there did you? Might as well be honest, right? I used to smoke a pack a day, sometimes more. I loved smoke break time at work, smoking while driving, after meals, the first one in the morning, the last at night. I loved smoking. This one I stopped because I’ve had asthma since I was a child. Smoking and asthma don’t get along. Another reason I stopped was that it controlled me. I didn’t just like to smoke, I had to smoke.

I could write about my personal experiences with sex, but I don’t want to and you don’t want to know. Trust me. I will just say that I know from experience that sex is easy to confuse with love. Sex can offer a counterfeit sense of closeness and relationship with other people. Uncontrolled sex can be addicting. It can cause children to grow up without fathers, break up families, bring disease and even death.

God offers so much more than temporal things can offer.  Through faith in His Son, Jesus Christ, we not only have eternal life, but the presence and power of the Holy Spirit that offers everlasting comfort and strength.

In John 6:35 “…Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst.”

Trusting in the power of Jesus to save and help is safe. It is in His Words that we find true fulfillment. Drinking from the waters of eternal life, quenches our soul like nothing else on earth can.

Are you hungry? Don’t trust in things that can destroy your body and your life. Trust in Jesus Christ, the “bread of life.”

Live your lives as a song for God.

Don, donterry@ising4God.com

Photo credit: Fir0002/Flagstaffotos, Creative Commons

Related articles

One thought on “Are You Hungry?

  1. Going through a nasty divorce after a long marriage to a multiple substance abuser, tho his first love is alcohol. “Are you Hungry” is well stated. Thus far he is without the working of the Holy Spirit in his life but I pray that he one day may know that “God offers so much more than temporal things can offer.”
    Thank you for writing. It helps me to heal to hear a brother that has walked this road of struggling with addictions.

Leave a Reply

