Are You Sure?

This week, as a thank you for reading this by way of my blog, or weekly newsletter, I am offering a an excerpt from chapter 1 of my upcoming book, Are You Ready To Serve?
The purpose of this book is to offer a few points to consider before going into any kind of church service. If you like this, be watching for more…
Are You Ready To Serve? by Don Terry
Chapter 1 Are You Sure?
Do you really want to serve in a church? Are you sure? I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking, “That’s not nice.” Maybe you think I have been jaded by bad experiences. Or, I have a bad attitude. After all, why wouldn’t anyone want to serve in  church? I have had plenty of bad experiences; both as a leader and as a follower. But, I’m not going to talk about those here.I ask about your sanity sincerely. You should consider your motives and have a certain level of maturity. If you enter into any ministry either spiritually, or mentally unprepared, your experience will be most unpleasant. This book will give you some points to think about. You are about to enter the world of church leadership. There’s no reason to go as a lamb to the slaughter. As Matthew 10:16says, “Behold, I send you out as sheep in the midst of wolves.Therefore be wise as serpents and harmless as doves.”Some of us have not had the best experiences with church leaders or parishioners. Yet, we still serve. Why? I can’t speak for everyone’s motives. I just know that I love serving in my local church because I know great things can happen there. I was introduced to relationship with God through Jesus Christ in church. It was at church, where I learned to worship God, study God’s Word, and how to live my life for Him. I serve because I want to contribute to those experiences for others.Wouldn’t anyone want to be a part of an experience that helps other people learn about and get closer to God? Of course they would! But, there are some truths you need to consider and some soul searching to do if you want to succeed.

There are a lot of books about church service and much I could say. But, I’m going to be brief and capsulize my message into seven be-attitudes. Be a Servant, be patient, be strong, be flexible, be prepared, be real and be loving.

I’d be interested in your comments and feedback. Please either click the comments button, or email me at donterry@ising4God.com.

Home Link

Bible Study Tools

Click here to sign up for my weekly updates.

Don

Related articles

2 thoughts on “Are You Sure?

  1. I can certainly agree with the title from my own experiences of being a minister it is the hardest things I ever encounter but yet it’s the most fulfilling thing I’ve ever done next to be saved, born again believer. It comes with it challenges but God gets us through it. One of my biggest challenges for me is I don’t or haven’t learn how to separate myself from other people’s problems. They till me their situations and I feel their hurt and pain and I surely can recognize it myself and so it stays with me and before I know it I feel down and hurt. And that is what I have to learn to do is continue to minister but not allow myself to be feeling down if that makes any sense to you at all.

Leave a Reply

